Awards & Recognition

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest volunteer honor given by United Way of Summit County. Since 1959 the award has been presented annually to individuals who demonstrate consistently the highest degree of interest, personal dedication and service in a voluntary capacity toward the improvement of education, income and health in Summit County through United Way and its funded agencies.

2015 Recipient: Robert E. DeJournett and William R. Feth 

Past Recipients


Spirit of Caring Award

The Spirit of Caring Award is United Way of Summit County’s most prestigious annual corporate award. It is given to the company that best “lives” the spirit of United Way during the annual fundraising campaign and throughout the year.

2017 Recipient: Bridgestone Americas, Inc.
2018 Recipient: GOJO Industries, Inc.


Young Philanthropist of the Year Award

Since 2005, United Way has annually recognized an individual 40 years old or younger who embodies the spirit of philanthropy though service to United Way and other nonprofit organizations.

2016 Recipient: Wesley Pierce

Past Recipients


Barbara Mathews Woman Philanthropist of the Year Award

Each year, United Way’s Women’s Leadership Council recognizes a woman who has demonstrated a passionate desire to help others through her financial support and service to non-profit organizations including United Way. Any woman who displays the characteristics consistent with the intent of the award, is a resident of or employed within Summit County and demonstrates philanthropic support in a variety of areas of the community, including United Way of Summit County, is eligible for the award.

2018 Recipient: Lisa Ann Ferring Mandel

Past Recipients


Wendell Willkie Award

The Akron Bar Association and United Way of Summit County challenge local attorneys and law firms to run outstanding United Way fundraising campaigns and compete for the prestigious Wendell Willkie Award. All Akron Bar Association member law firms that have a minimum of 40% employee participation in the firm’s campaign are eligible. The award is presented based on the highest yearly percentage increase in total number of givers, highest increase in per capita giving and highest percentage increase in total dollars raised.

2015 Recipient: Brouse McDowell 
2016 Recipient: Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
2017 Recipient: Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
2018 Recipient: Roetzel & Andress